Pictures…yeah about that

“A great photograph is one that fully expresses what one feels, in the deepest sense, about what is being photographed.”  Ansel Adams
I used to be one of those people who would see the same person post pictures “fifty-‘leven” times a day and think, “Dag, they post pics like every 5 minutes” – until I became one of those people! (Insert laugh)  Ok, I don’t post literally every 5 minutes but at least once a week…and considering the fact that at one time I hated taking pictures that is a lot.  I make no apologies for it; I’d prefer to scream to the top of my lungs that God is good!!!
I’ve always been camera shy.   But here lately, I find myself snapping pics of my #ootd, #photooftheday and/or those lovely #selfie(s) – my how the times have changed!  Every time I walk past a mirror, I get the opportunity to admire God’s creation- ME!  It is important to know that this has absolutely nothing to do with how perfect or imperfect my body is- what’s important here is how I feel from within.  As I flip through some old pictures, I can see the pain in my eyes and I look as if the world is on my shoulders.  At the time of those pictures, that is exactly how I felt and those feelings of being unsettled and uncomfortable stood out.  As a result of childhood disappointments, bitterness, regret and hurt, I had allowed things to cripple me and hold me back from pursuing the things that really interested me.  Also, because I lacked self-esteem, I talked myself out of a lot of things that I knew I was capable of succeeding at.  However, as my beloved Granny would say, “Aint no need in crying over spilled milk.”  In other words, I can’t go back and undo those moments but I can move forward without any inhibitions.

Thankfully, since that time, there has been a GREAT CHANGE!!!  Through picture walks, I see how my physical body is transforming.  The scale is decreasing in number and I’m also beginning to see a waist forming (team #hourglass J) !!!  However, the most remarkable change is how I feel about myself- something that a scale can’t EVER measure.  I smile so much more now and it’s real!!  In closing, one of my peeps and fellow blogger Bella Grace commented on a recent pic: “Your confidence is blinging!”…and for that I’m grateful.  *reaches the camera and smiles*

Here are some of my captured moments from 2013!

Leave a Reply

